First blog post

First blog so I thought it was appropriate to insert a photo of the Innukshuk from the people of the North standing guard.  This one was created  by my sister and me on Salt Spring Island last summer.  As I work my way through this new journey of my education I will always keep in mind the significance of this statue… standing guard over a village, signalling a direction, indicating a stash of food or water near by.  This Innukshuk lets me know that even a pile of rocks can create something beautiful and have a purpose.

I am a mother, cultural teacher, mentor, educator, elder in training and a student everyday.  If it is not the course educating me it is the students I work with who teach me life lessons, new music trends, latest styles, best apps to put on the Ipad, best hockey players and teams and that isn’t even touching on the educational, social or emotional lessons.  By day, I work in six amazing schools from kindergarten to grade 12 using the holistic approach to teaching cultural activities to Aboriginal students and all learners, co-teaching, advocating for students and creating and presenting presentations for classrooms.  Extra curricular activities and hobbies involve bike riding around my community, walking, volunteering, enjoying time with family and friends, beading, making moccasins and regalia, gardening and researching the family tree.  Now that my children are grown I plan on travelling more.  A goal is to walk the Camino de Santiago and visit various countries in Europe.

The Licenses

Attribution
CC BY

This license lets others distribute, remix, tweak, and build upon your work, even commercially, as long as they credit you for the original creation. This is the most accommodating of licenses offered. Recommended for maximum dissemination and use of licensed materials.

 

Leave a Reply

